

Dear Governor Inslee, Governor Kotek, and Governor Newsom,

We write to follow up on our <u>October 24th letter</u> requesting opposition to the proposed GTN XPress fracked gas expansion project. TC Energy is requesting federal authorization to increase the amount of fracked gas flowing through our region in the Gas Transmission Northwest (GTN) pipeline. If completed, this project will deepen reliance on fracked gas and increase greenhouse gas pollution significantly.

In November, the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) released its final Environmental Impact Statement (EIS) for GTN XPress. In response, the Attorneys General of Washington, Oregon, and California filed comments explaining that FERC drastically underestimated the project's downstream greenhouse gas emissions. The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency also criticized FERC's refusal to calculate the project's upstream emissions. Senators Jeff Merkley and Ron Wyden recently sent a letter urging FERC to deny GTN XPress because it is "incompatible with climate objectives and is not in the public interest." Now, it is crucial for our governors to denounce the project and stand by our region's commitment to reducing greenhouse gas emissions.

TC Energy's Keystone oil pipeline just experienced its worst spill in nearly a decade—leaking 600,000 gallons of oil in Kansas after the company increased pipeline capacity. TC Energy cannot be trusted to build and maintain pipelines, and should not be allowed to increase the gas capacity of the GTN pipeline. Tribes and our communities have spoken: they do not want to bear the burdens of an expansion designed to benefit gas producers. Will you stand with them?

Time is of the essence—FERC could make its decision as early as next month. Submitting your opposition to this project to FERC's docket will have a significant impact on this campaign and show your constituents that you stand firm against expanding the fossil fuel industry.

Sincerely,

The Undersigned Organizations;

Columbia Riverkeeper Audrey Leonard, Staff Attorney

Rogue Climate Maig Tinnin, Rogue Valley Coordinator

350 Deschutes Diane Hodiak, Executive Director

Oregon Physicians for Social Responsibility David De La Torre, Healthy Climate Program Director

Northwest Environmental Defense Center Jonah Sandford, Executive Director

Verde Oriana Magnera, Energy, Climate, and Transportation Program Manager Southern Oregon Climate Action Now Alan Journet, Co-Facilitator

Onward Oregon Lenny Dee, President

350 Eugene Debra McGee, Director

Breach Collective Nick Caleb, Climate and Energy Attorney

Earth Ministry/Washington Interfaith Power & Light Rev. AC Churchill, Executive Director

198 methods Drew Hudson, Founder

Sierra Club, Washington State Chapter Sept Gernez, Acting Director Sierra Club, Oregon Chapter Debra Higbee-Sudyka, Conservation Committee Chair

Washington Physicians for Social Responsibility Max Savishinsky, Executive Director

350 PDX Dineen O'Rourke, Campaign Manager

Food & Water Watch Thomas Meyer, Strategic Organizing Projects Director

350 Yakima Cyrus Philbrick, Leadership Circle

Sierra Club California Brandon Dawson, Director

FracTracker Alliance Shannon Smith, Executive Director

Pacific Environment Teresa Bui, State Climate Policy Director

Climate First: Replacing Oil & Gas (CFROG) Haley Ehlers, Director

RE Sources Shannon Wright, Executive Director

350 Seattle Selden Prentice, Federal Policy Lead

Linnton Neighborhood Association Nancy Hiser, Environment Committee

SoCal 350 Climate Action Jack Eidt, Co-Founder **350 Humboldt** Daniel Chandler, Steering Committee Member

Californians for Energy Choice Eric Brooks, Campaign Coordinator

Oil Change International Allie Rosenbluth, U.S. Program Co-Manager

Social Eco Education Martha Camacho Rodriguez, Director

CleanEarth4Kids.org Suzanne Hume, Educational Director and Founder

Wild Idaho Rising Tide Helen Yost, Community Organizer

California Democratic Party Environmental Caucus Igor Tregub, Chair

Pineros y Campesinos Unidos del Noroeste (PCUN) Ira Cuello-Martinez, Policy and Advocacy Director

Romero Institute Sara Nelson, Executive Director

California Interfaith Power & Light Susan Stephenson, Executive Director

350 Spokane Trenton Miller, Chair & Board Member

Waterkeeper Alliance Bart Mihailovich, Organizing Director **Rogue Riverkeeper** Emily Bowes, Conservation Director

Beyond Toxics Lisa Arkin, Executive Director

Oregon Just Transition Alliance Joel Iboa, Executive Director

Friends of the Earth US Nicole Ghio, Senior Fossil Fuels Program Manager

Vashon Climate Action Group Kevin Jones, Board Member

California Nurses for Environmental Health and Justice Scarlett Russell, Programs Coordinator

Action for the Climate Emergency Ash Lauth, National Director of Campaigns San Diego 350 Joyce Lane, Board President

Idaho Conservation League Brad Heusinkveld, Energy Associate

Climate Health Now Amanda Millstein, MD & Ashley McClure, MD, Co-Founders

Alliance of Nurses for Healthy Environments Katie Huffling, Executive Director

Zero Hour Aaditi Lele, Policy Director

Cascadia Climate Action Now Sally Keely, Founder